Skip to main content

Finalists for the 2020 Ahuwhenua Trophy recognised for horticultural excellence

Congratulations to this year's Ahuwhenua Trophy finalists.

Ko te reo whakamihi tēnei a Te Tumu Paeroa ki ēnei, ō tātou whanaunga kua whakanohongia ki tēnei taumata whakahirahira, hei tohu i ō rātou pukenga i ngā mahi ahu whenua.

Ko te whenua te tino ngako o te mana tangata, nō reira e tika ana kia mihia ngā whiwhinga nei e mātou, ngā kaitaunaki whenua mahi.

E whakahīhī ana a Te Tumu Paeroa, e hika mā, heoi, e whakahīhī ana Te Ao Māori whānui.

Kia ora rā.

Te Tumu Paeroa is proud to once again be a sponsor of the Ahuwhenua Trophy. Congratulations to this year’s finalists who have shown strong governance and leadership to ensure the sustainability and growth of their enterprises.

The three finalists in this year’s Ahuwhenua Trophy for the top horticultural enterprise were announced by the Hon Nanaia Mahuta, Minister for Māori Development in a ceremony at Parliament today.

  • Hineora Orchard, Te Kaha 15B Ahu Whenua Trust; a Māori freehold land block located in the Eastern Bay of Plenty township of Te Kaha, 65km east of Ōpōtiki on which the Trust run a kiwifruit joint venture operation.
  • Otama Marere (Paengaroa North A5) Block in Paengaroa near the Bay of Plenty town of Te Puke, who grow a mixture of Green, SunGold and organic kiwifruit as well as avocados.
  • Ngai Tukairangi Trust which is very large kiwifruit operation with one of its orchards, based at Matapihi, just a few kilometres from the centre of Tauranga city.

Trust & Property Director Brae Watkins attended the ceremony and said that Māori play an integral part in Aotearoa New Zealand’s horticulture industry. It’s important that we recognise those who continue to show innovation and excellence in this sector, as well as enhancing the capability of Māori.

Te Tumu Paeroa is passionate about supporting the development of whenua Māori and the inspirational Māori leading innovation in the agribusiness sector.

“This is the first year Māori horticulturalists have been recognised by the prestigious Ahuwhenua Trophy competition. We wish the finalists all the very best and look forward to celebrating their achievements at the Field days and awards dinner.”

The Ahuwhenua Trophy is the award for excellence in Māori farming and was inaugurated 87 years ago by the visionary Māori leader, Sir Apirana Ngata and the Governor General at the time, Lord Bledisloe.

The Trophy will now be competed for on a three-year rotational basis by Māori farmers in the sheep and beef, horticulture and dairy sectors.

Field Days
Update 21 March | Unfortunately due to the current COVID-19 situation in Aotearoa New Zealand, the Field Days and Awards Dinner scheduled for March/April have been cancelled.

Judging for the competition will still be completed and a special event for the presentation of the trophy will be arranged when the related restrictions are eased.

For more information see:

(Photo credit: Ahuwhenua Trophy committee | Finalists & Minister Mahuta – L-R: Ratahi Cross (Chairman, Ngai Tukairangi Trust), Minister Mahuta (Minister for Māori Development), Norman Carter (Chairman, Hineora Orchard, Te Kaha 15B Ahu Whenua Trust) & Homman Tapsell (Advisory Trustee, Otama Marere (Paengaroa North A5) Block)

Back to News